Thirty Four Minutes

If there is a parent that takes advantage of having a daughter that is up for anything to spend time with her dad, it is me.  I have attended my share of girly birthday parties and daddy-daughter pedicures, but those were just my required deposits in exchange for time hunting with Emma.  And I finally cashed in when I took her on an antelope hunt in Wyoming this season, which resulted in 34 minutes in a blind, two days of sight-seeing, and a lifetime of memories.

Emma and I have been on several antelope hunts, but none have ended with a punched tag.  We have endured moth infestations in our camp, 106-degree heat and broken down trucks.  For all those problems, old Orion finally smiled down upon us and gifted us with a hunt that we never deserved.

Emma has been on many archery antelope hunts, and knows how to find good bucks.

Emma has been on many archery antelope hunts, and knows how to find good bucks.

I won this hunt in a drawing from Rocky Mountain Athlete.  It included a three-day guided archery antelope hunt with Four Horse Outfitters near Upton, Wyoming.  When I called Fonzy Haskell to make the arrangements, he didn’t hesitate when I asked if Emma could tag along.  “Actually, we encourage it,” Fonzy said.  With that, we planned out the hunt and got ready for the adventure.

We arrived late on a Thursday night and after sleeping in a bit and having a big breakfast we made it to the blind at 10:04 Friday morning.  Exactly.  After spending a few minutes organizing our chairs and the camera equipment, I sat on the cooler and Emma was already complaining about being hungry.  I grabbed two bags of Chex Mix and we talked a bit about how better to organize our stuff in the blind so we would be comfortable for the anticipated long sit.

I considered opening up a few more windows in the blind and happened to look out the back window.  A buck was about 80 yards away coming straight at us.  It was one of those moments where nothing seemed to click.  I couldn’t quite understand what I was looking at.  He wasn’t a brute, but definitely a shooter for the area I was in.  I told Emma, and her eyes got big and she whispered questions faster than I could think or answer.  After composing myself, I got us both calmed down and we worked together to get everything in position so if a shot presented itself we could make it happen.  And happen it did.

Sixteen yards from the blind, the buck bent to drink.  I mouthed the words, “should I shoot?” and Emma responded with a wide-eyed, enthusiastic nod.  I hit his sweet spot and he piled up 90 yards from the blind.  We were in the blind for all of 34 minutes and our hunt was done.  I didn’t even have time to finish my Chex Mix.

Sharing the best of moments with my favorite Sancho Panza.

Sharing the best of moments with my favorite Sancho Panza.

We still had two days to fill.  I was so focused on hunting that I never thought about what to do if I tagged out early.  Lucky for us Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and a host of other national treasures are about a two hour drive from the hunting lodge.  We spent the next two days sight-seeing with Emma as the navigator and me the driver.  Wherever she pointed, we drove.

Devil's Tower, the nation's first national monument, looks much smaller in person.

Devil’s Tower, the nation’s first national monument, looks much smaller in person.

I never dreamed that a 34-minute hunt would rank in my all-time favorite experiences, but this one certainly does.  As for Emma, she ranks it in her Top 5 vacations.  Ever.  And she wants to go back to get her own buck next time.

The Mud Room at Four Horse Outfitters is nicer than most houses I have lived in!

The Mud Room at Four Horse Outfitters is nicer than most houses I have lived in!

3 thoughts on “Thirty Four Minutes

Leave a comment